Problem lowering water pressure

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi. We have a Glow-worm 24cxi combi boiler. The water pressure had lowered a couple of days ago, so as usual, I raised the pressure very slightly (as I have done on several occasions), but when I closed the valve when it reached 1.0, the pressure kept rising and stopped at 3.4. This caused a couple of leaks, so we turned the boiler off and turned the cold water inlet tap off, which stopped the leaks, as it was very late in the day.

Now we are trying to get everything put right. When we drain the water from the boiler or from the radiators, the pressure goes down, as expected, but as soon as we let water go through the water inlet tap, the pressure rises quickly again and we can't seem to get it to stablise.

We just need a bit of advice on how to get the pressure permanently down.

Sorry if I seem a complete novice, I am! But I learn quickly.
Thanks
Donna

Sponsored Links
Sorry, I didn't make the bit about the leaks very clear at all. The leaks only appear when the pressure gets very high, one when it gets to 3.0, which our manual suggests is what is supposed to happen, and the other one is when it gets a couple of notches higher than that from the reduced pressure zone valve, where it seem to pump out of, so presumably, they're just from the pressure overflowing?

erm it how i find leaks in a boiler by increasing the presure
probably why you topped up in the first place

but just bled a rad to get water out

Sponsored Links
Aah, thank you, so that would probably be why it had been falling slightly anyway! Right, I'll get that sorted.

But, if I bleed the radiators, with the water going through the inlet tap, the pressure doesn't seem to stop going up. We took it down from 3.0 to 1.0 with the tap off, turned the tap back on, and it raised pretty quickly. Am I missing something here please?

Thank you

had this on my nans filling loop