Putting up coving, wallpaper and painting - which order!?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all,

I have stripped the walls in the spare bedroom and realised that the top of the walls are in pretty poor condition and therefore will probably need to put up coving. I am also wanting to put up lining paper and paint it. Just confused which order I should do this all in, in order to get the best finish and result. Is it paper first then coving on top, or coving first then paper up to the bottom of the coving.

Thank you very much in advance for your responses.

Sponsored Links
I have no idea how to do what you're asking as I'm a beginner myself, but I'm sure these fine gentlemen will be able to help you here.

Its best to have the coving up first, as there will be a little bit of mess on the walls with the adhesive, specially if he is a messy bu55er lol
Then hang your lining paper up to the edge of the bottom of the coving,, when finished lining, and the paper is completely dry, get some decorators caulk and a gun, and go round the top of the lining paper/under the edge of the coving with the caulk very carefully.

This will give the coving a nice clean finish as well as the top of the lining paper, and cover any gaps at the bottom of the coving.

well said ;) and if you paint the small "ledge" of the coving in wall colour and then go over the concave face of the cove again in ceiling colour (white)you save having to cut in under cove.....and get a straighter line ;)

Sponsored Links
We can't afford the coving we want just yet but we have someone who will line our walls for free if we do it this week. Is it possible to put the coving up afterwards, even if it means it will take longer to make it look nice? Or will it just look awful?