Quote to repair parapet wall repair on Victorian house £10,500?!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I'm not an expert on any of this so apologies if I'm not explaining things well!

I have a Victorian house which has parapet wall on the roof dividing my property from the neighbours. A couple of days ago we had some heavy rain and I heard the odd drip coming from the attic so went to investigate. I found that several beams at the ridge of the roof were wet and a few were dripping.

The parapet wall clearly needs some attention as it is cracked in a few places. This isn't a picture of my roof, but I found this online which looks very similar to my roof and the condition of the parapet. (I might be able to take pics on the weekend if it's helpful).
parapet-wall-repair-in-rochester-15-1030x1030.webp

The guy who came to give me a quote basically said what I thought he'd say – that the parapet is cracked and needed rendering. He also noted that the render looked quite porous and I suspect he's right – I guess it might be an old lime render given the age of the house.

Anyway, he's given me a quote to install scaffolding, hack the render off, rerender with a water proofed sand/cement mix, and to extend the drip edge of the coping stones (there is no edge currently). Specifically:

- Cut 18mm osb board and mechanically fix to coping stones
- Fix code 4 lead welting at joints increasing drip edge to coping stones

Additionally, he also quoted for a new valley where my front and back roofs meet, although I'm not convinced this is leaking look looking inside the attic – it's all from the ridge below the parapet. He didn't like the look of it though and advised it be replaced.

I have no idea what a reasonable price is for this work... I had assume the repair might be ~£6,000, but I'm kinda shocked that it's over £10,000 seeing as the tiles themselves and the rest of the roof seems fine – just a little dated.