rads lukewarm

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I don't think this has been dealt with anywhere else either on this site or the web. I am a complete novice on central heating systems so please bear with me. My house has just been refurbished all radiators have been taken off for decorating purposes. Three radiators at the top of the house have been replaced. All radiators have now been fitted with an individual thermostat control. Today the plumber and electrician turned the boiler back on - it is a potterton kingfisher mf. The hot water works but the radiators are lukewarm. The election and plumber say they don't understand why but the boiler is old (its 7 years old) and there may be a problem with it. It worked fine before, is serviced every year by British Gas and seems to be working to me. If you look at the radiator the pipe at the bottom right is really hot, the pipe at the bottom left is cold (told you I was a novice) and so to me it seems that the water is going around the house but not into each actual radiator. To me it seems that the new valve is not working. Any help in laymans terms as to what to say to the electrician and plumber would be much appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Go to the nearest rad to your boiler and put your TRV on the highest setting, then the valve on the opposite side turn this anti clockwise fully open.

Make sure the boiler is on for heating, is this rad getting hotter?.

;)

hi bob

if the plumbe AND elctrician together can't get it to work, the exact thing to say to them is:

YOU ARE FIRED

Sponsored Links