SEVEN GU10 halogen lamps all blew together!

No.
Is the FCU off the lighting circuit?
Yes, there is a 3A fuse alongside the switch which controls all of the lights and the fan and this is connected to the lighting circuit at the consumer unit. I know because I have isolated it from there in the past.

Sponsored Links
The "manufacturer's instructions" nearly always state the the item "must be installed by a qualified electrician" but no one ever seems to care about that one.
The lights and the fan were installed by a qualified electrician (or so I believe) at the time, although I have since changed the fan to a quieter model. I must confess that I am not a qualified electrician! :whistle:

Whenever one of my halogen bulbs in the kitchen blew when switching on, there was always a 'pop' and the breaker would trip. It also trips if a normal incandescent bulb blows when switching on although there is never a 'pop'. Perhaps the OP's fan has a switched live from the lights but a main feed from elsewhere?
Yes it does. I'm sure of that because when the fuse in the switch unit blew (along with one of the lamps), the fan continued to run as it usually does when we turn off the lights.

Ah right. On my one the permanent and switched lives both come from the same ceiling rose.

Sponsored Links
The lights and the fan were installed by a qualified electrician (or so I believe) at the time, although I have since changed the fan to a quieter model. I must confess that I am not a qualified electrician! :whistle:
Yes, and there is nothing wrong with that legally or regulation-wise.

I was merely pointing out that because the 'manufacturer's instructions' state something does not make it so.

• Thanks
Reactions: JBR
He was an idiot. FCUs are not required on lighting circuits.

FCUs are not required on lighting circuits.