Shed base by a first timer - how thick a layer of dry mix?

r_c

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a boring office job, so please excuse me if this seems obvious- I've never done anything like this before.

I am creating a shed base and am following the instructions of a B&Q video on YouTube. After laying the sub base and compacting it, they suggest to use a dry mix of 9 parts sharp sand to 1 part cement. They then lay concrete slabs on top of this dry mix.

But they do not say how thick this layer of dry mix should be. Is there a thickness I should aim for?

I notice they do not compact the dry mix at all - so maybe not so thick??

Sponsored Links
All I did was to put down railway sleepers to kept sheds off ground and give air circulation, that was 35 years ago, shed floors still in great order. 6x4 and a 12x10 shed.

Times change with new ideas how to erect a shed,:)

• Thanks
Reactions: r_c
All I did, wrongly or so it seems, was just use a couple of inches of sand, no cement, with patio slabs on top but it’s been fine for nearly 10 years now so I think I’ve got away with it. 6x8 shed.

• Thanks
@pidgeon1 Interesting you say that, because my father in law was talking about something similar. Instead of sitting the shed on the concrete slabs, lay it on top of a few long bits of wood (e.g. those long blue roof battens). Over time these will rot due to laying flat on concrete, etc, and then every 10 years or so lifting the shed and replacing one by one. The argument goes that whatever wood that sits on the concrete slabs will rot, so why not use wood that can easily be replaced, instead of letting the shed wood rot.

But I don't know enough about these things to know if that's a good idea or not.

Sponsored Links