Shower And Combi boiler.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi just a quick questions for all you techy people! :)

I'm going to have a new combi boiler installed, need to decide make a model. but one quick question.

If the mains water feeds direct into the combi boiler, why cant I split off from the mains pipe before it entersinto the combi boiler so I can use a standard electric shower, instead of useing a Mixer shower or a thermal shower.

Many Thanks

Glyn

Sponsored Links
Optimal,

1 question for you. Why would you want to use an electric shower, when you can get a better shower from your combi.

Rico

I'm not an expert, but that's exactly the set up I had when my combi was installed. Assuming the guy new what he was doing, he didn't bat an eyelid.

I have since ripped out the shower though (re-doing bathroom)

Optimal,

1 question for you. Why would you want to use an electric shower, when you can get a better shower from your combi.

Rico

I'm a total newbie at DIY, however I just recently purchased an electric shower which i installed myself, I just dont want to go through the hassle of replumbing a hot and cold feed to the shower etc etc, also dont want to spend £300 ish on shower plus my plumbing skills are not that great!!! unless someone can recommend a shower that is compatible that only uses a cold feed.

Thanks

Glyn

Sponsored Links
I'm not an expert, but that's exactly the set up I had when my combi was installed. Assuming the guy new what he was doing, he didn't bat an eyelid.

I have since ripped out the shower though (re-doing bathroom)

Combis give superb showers one of their real strong points. If you want electric backup, then take the combi hot outlet into the inlet of an instant electric heater. Leave the heater off and the hot water just runs straight through. If the combi is down then switch on the electric heater.