sick of bitumen - decisive help needed.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi DIYnot.

We are in the final throws of completing the rennovation of our house. I am an accountant but my husband is the contracts manager of a building company that does insurance work. But we are totally sick of trying to find an answer for the following.

In summary:
We have a solid concrete based conservatory, it has a dpm just under the surface and due to historic damp we primed the base with a bitumen paint (roofing paint) primer and then 2 coats of bitumen roof paint. The product is Marley Universal Bitumen Waterproofing Paint. In total the primer and paint is barely 2mm thick.

We are going to instal an electric heating mat onto this base with a natural stone tile over the very top. Because of the size of tiles and bumpy surface we need to put a levelling compound over the top of the mat but all we hear is "it won't adhere to the bitumen".

I need an answer PLEASE, someone!!!! -

We don't want to use a latex compound as we have been advised this is too flexible and won't adhere. We understand an acrylic compound is that we need but then other people say no. - HELP!

I have even considered just sticking hardboard down to the bitumen with a construction adhesive and then putting the heating and compound over the top.

Please can someone give me a solution.???

Many thanks, a very very stressed Hayley

Sponsored Links
hiya - I haven't heard that suggestion before, how thick polystyrene? Also will this be solid enough to support the natural travetine tile, because we have been told that any give in it and it could cause the tiles to break or crack.

thanks x

How bumpy is bumpy? If its the kind of bumps that a floor leveling compound is meant to remove, surely a 5mm notched tile adhesive troweling will sort it out? Bed tiles into adhesive with spirit level, job done?

Sponsored Links
Hi