SMEG SLIMLINE DISHWASHER

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
My Smeg slimline DWF 409WH dishwasher won't start. It was full of water, which I've emptied, and I've tried the reset advice on this Forum several times but it just gives a little brrrp, as if it's going to start, then the last 3 lamps come on, as though it's finished a cycle.
Please has anyone any advice? It's quite a few years old now but has always worked brilliantly... and I don't fancy the expense of a call-out or a new machine if it can be avoided.

Sponsored Links
If the filters are clean & the waste hose/sink spigot clear then the most likely candidate is a jammed/defective drain pump.

If the filters are clean & the waste hose/sink spigot clear then the most likely candidate is a jammed/defective drain pump.

Thanks for that, unfortunately we are complete novices in the mending electricals department so, please, how do you locate the drain pump? Is it behind the little plate at the base? If so, how to remove it & what do we look for?
The filters and hose are clean and clear.

Unfortunately I can't pull up any constructional drawings on this machine but most of the Smeg dishwashers I have worked on have had a removable baseplate (you may also be able to get at the pump if there is a cover at the front under the door). If not disconnect the DW & lie it on its back (have a bucket handy to catch any water from the drain hose as you lower it). Removing the baseplate gives you good access to most major components, including the pump. It may be as simple a a piece of glass or similar blocking the pump impellor. Go here for some useful background info http://www.smeg-service.co.uk/support/index.php?a=1#2 Click on "dishwashers" then type in "drain" or "pump" in the knowledge search bar. Good luck :D

Sponsored Links