Some retailers should be shot.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
A year ago, I did a job for a client that involved fitting a ceiling light fitting in a tiny shower room.

The client came back with a fitting described by the retailer as suitable for any location, except inside a shower tray, unless a gasket is fitted.

When I unpacked the light fitting, it specifically stated "Only suitable for zone 3"

So, I rang the manufacturer to double check this and they confirmed. Further, they told me that there was no such gasket for mounting the fitting over a shower tray. Armed with this, I rang the retailer to see if he had any suitable fittings.

"Do you know, young man, I've been selling light fittings for 30 years, and this is the first complaint I have ever had?" (Patronising b*****d!) Don't believe him anyway.

He would not have it that the light fitting was unsuitable, even after ringing the manufacturer to check. So my client returned the light fitting for a refund (initially refused) and went elsewhere.

Today, I went to fit two wall lights (amongst other things) for another client. I went last week, only to discover that the wall lights had no pull-cord switches integral, and as the feed was permanent live, and I couldn't mess up the decor, I suggested her changing them for switched fittings.

Anyhow, I called today to discover that the retailer had fitted the switches himself.

Upon examination, both brass fittings had loose arms, both had bare flex sticking out of the switch terminals (one by 12mm!), one fitting had a switch which was proud of the fitting body, so that the fitting would not sit flush with the wall, both swich mechanisms fouled the interior of the fitting so that switching was hit & miss, and last but not least, one had no earth connection whatsoever, having gone in with one.

The retailer? Surprise, surprise.....the same one!