Switching window opening.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a big bay window , two top hung sash windows and the centre fixed.
How easy is it to switch the two top hung windows to side hung. The windows are to big to be top hung and just close under their own weight , and there's no restrictors so you can open them wide open from the outside.
Any help would be grateful , I'm a general builder not a window man.

Sponsored Links
But if they're too big for top hung surely logic says they'll be too big for side hung....yes/no?

Apart from that you'll have 3 holes to fill where you move the handle from

Why not just nip up the little brass screw on the sliding guide on the hinge to gain a bit more friction, will help to keep them open under their own weight

But if they're too big for top hung surely logic says they'll be too big for side hung....yes/no?

Apart from that you'll have 3 holes to fill where you move the handle from

Why not just nip up the little brass screw on the sliding guide on the hinge to gain a bit more friction, will help to keep them open under their own weight

They seem to be to heavy for top hung, side hung would be better for weight distribution and safer for security. Holes would be easy filled and not visible by and large.

I thought about a window restrictor but I can't get one for top hung with is concealed and offers decent security .

Sponsored Links
Can you post a pic or 2 so we can get an idea of the size and layout
20180628_171357.jpg
20180628_171409.jpg
20180628_171357.jpg 20180628_171409.jpg

May be possible. What is the overall height of the window inc the cill?
Generally around 1200-1300mm tall is the max for a side hung depending on the make (which is quite possibly Eurocell).

You did mention you could fill the holes from the old handle position if you turned it. They are quite large holes, 2 at about 8mm and one at around 10mm. Rather tricky to fill seamlessly.