Testing A Strobe

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all New To The Forum , I have Installed A Few Optima Panels for freinds and family so i,m not quite a total Novice , I have just put a optima 8 in and wired it up but i can,t get the strobe to run, I have wired it from Strobe - to Strobe - and left the Strobe + not connected as usual, I,m not even getting the charge sound from the Box , Does this sound like a fault with the box and can i test the strobe to be sure , Many Thanks For Your Help The Bell Box is a
VENTCROFT Type

Steve

Sponsored Links
connect 12v directly to the strobe, at the box if you have to, also does everything else work?

Thanks Breezer For Your Quick Reply , Yes everything else works , Both Green And red lights , Do I just put a 12v + & - To The Strobe + & - In The Bell Box ??

Thank you Again

Steve

i am not familar with the bell box you mention, some ot all have a separate pair for a strobe.

try this then.

stick your meter (good technical term that) across the out put for the strobe and + or - which ever the strobe output isn't

so if its -ve for stobe put the other lead on a + then tell the panel to test the stobe.

if you get 12v its either a wiring error or naff strobe. then you will have to go to the bell box and try it, you may have used blue at one end and green at the other, seen that done before

Sponsored Links
Thanks Breezer i,ll try that , I,m sure my colours are right though , I,ll Post My Findings , Just to confirm One thing , The Strobe Uses the minus - So i Connect the Other Side To The 12 Volt Supply To The Sensors Is That Right

thanks Again

steve

assuming you mean +ve that supplies detectors yes. or the +ve for the battery