Texecom Alarm and remote outbuilding

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello
I'm about to purchase an alarm which will probably be a Texecom Premier Elite 48 and then a zone expander in the outbuildings which are 50m away.
I previously installed some underground cables from the house to the outbuildings for phone , Cat5 and a couple of 6 core alarm cables so my question is how many wires will be needed from the zone expander to the main box ?

Sponsored Links
The expander will take 4 cables. Always a good idea to have some spares mind, and double up on power is always a good thing.

the expander can be run on alarm cable 100m without the need to do anything, and over 250M by changing the S and daisy jumper.

so you should be well in the clear at 50 M

Thanks for reply

Is that 4 x individual wires or 4 x 6 cores ?
I was told by Texecom that at long distances I may need the powered expanders

I'm not a complete novice when it comes to wiring and sensors but have no experience with alarms

Thanks

You have to allow for a power drop over long distances.

the Texecom manual clearly states the operational distances of the units.

50M isnt long by any means.

4 cores T, R, +, - its a connected to the network.

Doubling up on power terminals may be sufficent, but I have no idea on the specs of the cables you are using or the power the system is taking. There are online calculators you can use to work it out.

depending on what your using on the expander over that distnce will determine if you need a powered expander. the cable used will also have an effect on power drop.

With a powered expander, the only difference is its connected to the mains and it has its on battery backup, but its still connected tothe panel in the same way, except theres no positive in the network connection as the power is local, you must have a common negative or you will experiance some interesting problems along with T and r back to the panel.