Three upstairs radiators not heating

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Have moved into a new house before Xmas and heating switched off for two weeks prior. Since moving in three radiators upstairs (perveived to be last on circuit) will not heat. Have flushed all rads, drained and refilled system. Still no heat. Have bled all rads too. Finally yesterday I switched off all rads in house leaving only the three cold ones on. They heated but I notices the expansion tank in attic filled to overflow pipe, both in and out rad pipes were hot and I had the feeling the heat was coming in from the return pipes. Also when all other rads were off and I bled the three air was being sucked in, not blown out????

I have learnt all I know from searching the forum in the last two weeks so am a complete novice. Have also had a plumer call who was confused by the situation and left without charging!!!!

Previous house owners assure us all was working fine when they left the house since their young kids were sleeping in these rooms.

Any help greatfully appreciated

Sponsored Links
This is suspiciosly like a blockage in a pipe, but you have drained and refilled, and if the plumber left without charging, we will struggle to come up with the answer.

What system do you have?
Is your pump running correctly?
Have you bled your rads?
Try turning off all rads that are working and leave the affected rads on, do they heat up?
What type of motorised valve do u have? 2 2 ports or a 3 port?

Might be worth calling in a Corgi heating engineer as opposed to a plumber?

Thanks Oilman and BDL for replying.

BDL, in answer to your questions,

I have a Potterton Kingfisher boiler on an open vented system

As far as I am aware the pump is working fine