Timber or UPVC external door

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I've just moved house, and one of the jobs we want to get sorted quickly is a new front door. There's a porch with an outer and inner door, both of which are a bit more flimsy than we'd like. It's a Victorian house, and we'd like to replace the inner door with something secure and solid. I'm looking at timber external doors because I much prefer the look of them, but I'd be grateful for any thoughts on the security aspects of both types - bearing in mind that I don't think we're at much risk from people forcibly battering the door down, is there much advantage to a upvc with 5-point lock over a timber door with a good Yale and mortis lock? I'm not taking into account noise reduction/insulation at this point.

Sponsored Links
I'm no expert and I'm sure you will receive replies from those who are, but these are my observations.

We had a UPVC front outer door fitted in our last house, but kept the existing wooden inside door. This wooden door was fitted with a 5 lever mortise lock, had solid panels at the bottom and was half glazed with a 12mm sealed unit which had coloured, leaded glass. Theoretically, someone could have gained entry by removing or breaking the glass; however, it seemed to me that if the UPVC door was breached it would take a pretty determined thief to get to work on the glass of the inner door as well, and that this combination would deter an opportunist. So we retained a combination of wood and UPVC.

Another advantage of UPVC doors is that changing locks is very easy indeed. Stating the obvious I know, but make sure that if you get one, its fitted with the best lock you can afford.