1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Vaillant ecotec plus radiator symbol

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by msmsm, 10 Mar 2021.

  1. msmsm

    msmsm

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I was wondering if anyone could help before I contact my engineer.

    I have a vaillant ecotec plus. This is connected to a Heatmiser UH8-RF - 8 Zone Wireless Wiring Centre, with 2 underfloor heating zones and one zone for radiators.

    The problem I have is that the radiator symbol is currently always on on the vaillant, even when there is no heat demand (all thermostats set low and no zone lights present on the UH8), and the temperature on the display is around 70, all the time. The status of the boiler, via the menu, states No Heating Demand, so I am confused as to why the radiator symbol is present and the temperature in the boiler is so high?

    Can anyone shed any light on this?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Chris_W

    Chris_W

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    6,090
    Thanks Received:
    1,598
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How old is the boiler? I’m betting the link may have been left in.
     
    • Like Like x 2
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. msmsm

    msmsm

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It is only a month or so old, but I'm not living in the property so only used it a couple of times. I have a 10yr guarantee on it, so is it a case of getting the engineer back? I have switched it off for now as I was worried it was costing me money?

    Also, I meant to say in the original post as well as the boiler saying there is No heating Demand, the heating is not actually on (there is no hot water being pumped to the radiators). When I actually switch the heating on the temperature on the display drops to around 30, water starts being pumped, and the temperature slowly increases, as expected.
     
    Last edited: 10 Mar 2021
  5. Chris_W

    Chris_W

    Joined:
    26 Sep 2019
    Messages:
    6,090
    Thanks Received:
    1,598
    Location:
    North
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, get engineer back, from the additional information, it does sound like the 24v link has been left in. If not sorted, it could crack the heat exchanger, I’ve witnessed a few now.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Mottie

    Mottie

    Joined:
    27 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    14,669
    Thanks Received:
    1,669
    Location:
    Essexshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    • Like Like x 2
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. msmsm

    msmsm

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, sounds like a panel off job then so out of my remit. Will let you know the result once gas man has sorted it.

    Thanks for the help.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Sponsored Links
  9. Mottie

    Mottie

    Joined:
    27 Feb 2017
    Messages:
    14,669
    Thanks Received:
    1,669
    Location:
    Essexshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I did mine myself. 5 minute job.
     
  10. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    20,926
    Thanks Received:
    8,135
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Agree with everyone else, red24v link has been left in on boiler, if you dont want to do it yourself, get the installer back to remove it, although the boiler is still under warranty it is an installer fault and Vaillant are well within their rights to charge you for a call out to remove it
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. msmsm

    msmsm

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep it is the installer coming back. I will mention it to him and see what he says.
     
  12. ianmcd

    ianmcd

    Joined:
    15 Aug 2010
    Messages:
    20,926
    Thanks Received:
    8,135
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just tell him to read the installation manual, it clearly states this link must be removed when external controls are installed
     
  13. msmsm

    msmsm

    Joined:
    30 Nov 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All sorted. As you all thought the link had been left in. Thanks for all your help!
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
Loading...

Share This Page