1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Viessmann Vitodens 100 30kw combi

Discussion in 'Plumbing and Central Heating' started by LSP2020, 16 May 2013.

  1. LSP2020

    LSP2020

    Joined:
    16 May 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Help/advice greatly appreciated. The boiler is heating water on demand but not heating rads. I’ve tried resetting every thing even the external Siemens thermostat but this doesn’t help.
    I’ve been in touch with Viessmann and they say it’s either the thermostat unit or the Flow Switch. I’m happy that the thermostat is working OK after resetting the connection in-line with the instruction manual.
    Any ideas?
     
  2. Sponsored Links
  3. Jackrae

    Jackrae

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2012
    Messages:
    2,115
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Dumfriesshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Flow switch ?
     
  4. LSP2020

    LSP2020

    Joined:
    16 May 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah?
    Flow Switch - Cold Water Inlet Elbow with Water Flow Switch??
     
  5. Jackrae

    Jackrae

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2012
    Messages:
    2,115
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Dumfriesshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Flow switch maybe stuck in "flow detected" position so boiler transfers heating facility to the domestic hot water mode. But if you are not drawing off water then presumably boiler flame extinguishes. Dare I suggest disconnecting the switch to see what happens.
     
  6. Phill Peck

    Phill Peck

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2011
    Messages:
    16,029
    Thanks Received:
    3,897
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How old is it
     
  7. Phill Peck

    Phill Peck

    Joined:
    17 Aug 2011
    Messages:
    16,029
    Thanks Received:
    3,897
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Does the boiler fire in ch
    Are u saying it fires but rads don't get hot? Or it doesn't fire
     
  8. LSP2020

    LSP2020

    Joined:
    16 May 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The boiler is about 4 years old............
    It fires to heat water but it doesn't click into CH mode so the rads dot heat?
     
  9. Agile

    Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    63,598
    Thanks Received:
    4,526
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try selecting the CH and then turn the DHW temp control knob back to zero!!!

    Tony
     
  10. Sponsored Links
  11. LSP2020

    LSP2020

    Joined:
    16 May 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey Tony - tried what you suggested and the heating fires up.
    When I turn the temp on the HW back up the heating cuts out??
     
  12. Jackrae

    Jackrae

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2012
    Messages:
    2,115
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Dumfriesshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In principal, isn't that what's supposed to happen. DHW takes priority over CH. However, if the cut-out of CH takes place with no DHW flowing it seems the boiler "thinks" that there is water flowing - which takes us back to the flow switch.
     
  13. Agile

    Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    63,598
    Thanks Received:
    4,526
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So now following my help you can have some heating!

    Have you at any time unplugged the DHW flow sensor?

    Or tested it with a multimeter?

    Tony
     
  14. LSP2020

    LSP2020

    Joined:
    16 May 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the heating

    Have you at any time unplugged the DHW flow sensor? No

    Or tested it with a multimeter? No

    Do you think it's the flow sensor that's failing?
     
  15. Jackrae

    Jackrae

    Joined:
    20 Nov 2012
    Messages:
    2,115
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    Dumfriesshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You asked the manufacturers - they suggested the flow switch - why do you chose to ignore their suggestion ?
     
  16. Agile

    Agile

    Joined:
    26 Jun 2004
    Messages:
    63,598
    Thanks Received:
    4,526
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The first expectation would be the flow switch !

    You asked and we have told you! So have Viess Tech apparently as well so I dont know why you seem so reluctant to accept that.

    However, the last time I saw that fault it was not the flow switch but the PCB ( which are expensive for those boilers! ).

    The test I asked you to do restores the CH but does not differentiate between flow SW or PCB faults!

    Tony Glazier
     
  17. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page