Villeroy & Boch Toilet Leaking from Cistern Tank

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have the above close coupled toilet brand and it appears to be leaking (only when flushed) from the wing nuts bolts underneath which holds everything together.

See the photo below which shows the bolts from inside the tank.

I was wondering if it’s an easy job to drain the Cistern and replace the seals to stop it leaking.

I’ve never done anything like this before so any help would be great.

Sponsored Links
It is unlikely that the leak is from those bolts as water would constantly be leaking, not just when flushing.

More likely to be a perished donut washer.

Thanks for the reply.

I did think it was strange why it only leaked when flushed. Would replacing the donut washer be a fairly easy job?

I’m not sure how to disconnect everything inside.

Thanks

Bob

Turn off the water supply
Undo the tap connector (nut connecting supply pipe to the fill valve)
Flush the toilet
Remove as much water as possible from the cistern.
Undo the wing nuts connecting cistern to the pan
Undo screws fixing cistern to wall.

Cistern should now lift off and reveal donut washer. replace the washer then re-fit in reverse- ensuring that the fibre washer in the tap connector is ok or replaced. Do not cross-thread this nut when replacing and do not over tighten.

Hope that helps

Sponsored Links
You can get a close coupling kit including donut washer wingnuts and bolts from screwfix for about £3. You can gaurantee the old bolts will be rusty :(

You can gaurantee the old bolts will be rusty :(

Yes, did one the other day and the sods were rusted solid. Had to hacksaw them, with very tight access. Lots of swearing and blood spilt.

Went to lift off the cistern, only to find that the fecker who fitted it had stuck the back of it to the wall with most of a tube of silicone. :evil:

The joys of plumbing! :LOL:

Hope the op has more luck!

Thanks for all the answers.