Wiring an outside light

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
(this is a followup to my post here //www.diynot.com/diy/threads/wiring-a-double-2-way-light-switch.441970/ - I've now decided to replace the whole outside light)

Complete novice here.
For starters - I've turned off all lights at the fusebox, and checked there's no current,

I'm replacing an outside PIR light. The old one had connectors for 3 wires - and the earth was disconnected and folded over. The new light only has connections for Live and Neutral. But the the neutral connection also has a black wire coming from it (the instructions don't mention it):

IMG_20150927_100522543_HDR.jpg

The cable coming out of the wall has 4 wires - grey (with blue sleeve), black (with brown sleeve), brown and yellow/green.
IMG_20150927_100430460.jpg

So...how do I wire it up? From the (very helpful) answers to my previous post, I'm thinking the black wire (with brown sleeve) is an override for the PIR.

And for any wires which aren't connected (eg the earth), what's the safest way to terminate them?

Sponsored Links
I would guess original had On/PIR/Off option, but pictures don't give information required. You need the circuit diagram for light and switch and likely once you have that it will become obvious how to connect. Other than that it down to tracing and testing not really something one can do by remote.

I would guess original had On/PIR/Off option, but pictures don't give information required. You need the circuit diagram for light and switch and likely once you have that it will become obvious how to connect. Other than that it down to tracing and testing not really something one can do by remote.

That's right - the old one had the option to override the PIR and have the light permanently on (by switching on/off/on quickly). The new one doesn't have that function.