How long would it take you to undercoat..?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
188000_187603_46153_55356183_thumb.jpg

the right hand side in image.
Size is 2.1M x 2.4M 20 windows each 48cm x 30cm

I'm not a pro and it took me just short of 2 1/2 hours in 35 degree heat (in the shade!)
My friend who owns the property told me that is very slow! The left hand side took me roughly the same.

I did suggest she showed me how to do it quicker but the offer was declined.

Pros and DIYers please leave time estimates, very interested to know

Sponsored Links
If it's neat then that sounds like good time to me. BTW I thought you were painting it rather than staining it.

I am painting it Joe, there are another set the same as these to the left and today with a good quality paint brush and adding quite a lot of thinners to help the undercoat run better I got the time down to 45 minutes. I actually did the 1st set in 1 1/2 hours not 2 1/2 as above, that's a typo.

I gave the set in the pic a 1st top coat today and that took me roughly 1 3/4 hours, again thinned paint and a good brush. I am amazed the difference a good brush makes, 1 pass cutting in saves so much time.

188000_187603_47855_61965942_thumb.jpg

Left is white undercoat right is new top coat
Reckon I lost a few pounds in sweat though and as I am on day rate I won't be going at that speed again.