My lovely neighbour!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Bit long but bare with me.

A few months ago my neighbour started to act in an unreasonably sad manner by placing her 2 wheelie bins in such a position on our open plan drive so as to make it very difficult for my wife and I to exit our car when opening the doors. Basically she would move the bins around to match the varying position in which I parked the car, it was a bit like a sad game of chess. If I were to accidentally touch or move her bins when opening the doors, she would sneak out after I had gone, and finely adjust their positions to make it more awkward on my return. Now my drive is fairly long and I could park my car in a different place but why should I? I’ve been parking my car there for over 10 years so why should I change now?

What also annoyed her was that I would have to step on her part of the drive to get into my car whilst opening the driver’s door. This was almost unavoidable due to the narrowness of the drives but she believed I was trespassing on her property and she repeatedly told me so.

Now, I must admit that I found it all rather amusing trying to out wit her attempts to inconvenience me. Being rather agile, I was able to enter and exit my car 95% of the time albeit rather awkwardly. I was always careful not to touch her precious bins and I’m sure that my success only added to her annoyance. On one occasion she placed the bins in just the right position, so I had to do a bit of thinking if I was going to get in without any interference. I had a brainwave: I opened the passenger door, slipped off the hand break and pushed the car back down the drive a small distance. This allowed me access to the driver’s side so I promptly got in.