New cooker ..plug or no plug?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Total novice, please help.Need to buy new cooker, single oven dual fuel. New ovens seem to come with a 13amp plug but I only have a point to hard wire.Can I cut the plug off and hard wire it in? Or could you recommend an oven? Many thanks.

Sponsored Links
Do you currently have an outlet plate behind the oven, and an isolator somewhere above the worktop in the kitchen?

MKK5045.JPG

Cooker outlet plate

If you have what RF has posted above then after a change of fuse you should be able to cut off the plug and wire it in, but you will void the warranty if you do this.

An easy solution is to fit a single socket to the space where the outlet plate is and then just plug it in.

Yes do have outlet plate and isolater switch. So if I was to replace the cooker outlet plate with a socket, do I need to change the fuse? This is how much of a novice... the big fat wiring to the outlet, is this ok for a standard plug?

Sponsored Links
If the cables will fit into the terminals of the socket there is no need to change the fuse because the fuse is there to protect the cable and only the cable. (Based on the assumption that the cable was correctly fused to begin with).

Is the cooker circuit RCD protected? If not then you should either change it to the RCD side or label the socket as "not suitable for supplying portable equipment outside" or something like that.

I'm also thinking that because you are adding a socket this work is notifiable but I may be wrong.

RF Lighting said:
Do you currently have an outlet plate behind the oven, and an isolator somewhere above the worktop in the kitchen?

MKK5045.JPG

Cooker outlet plate
What is cooker outlet plates job.Normaly is it not the case that cable is taken from CU to cooker isolater and then to cooker.