Part P

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
What do you have to do / have you guys done , to qualify for part P.
And how much££?

Sponsored Links
I'm really interested to hear the replies to this. I'm no electrician, but I'm happy to do a simple power or lighting circuit.

As I understand it, existing qualifications mean zip - you have to be observed by one of about half a dozen 'recognized' companies in the U.K. (easily identified by members of the cabinet on the board of directors? :evil:) and then, after paying your fee for 6 months supervision, :eek:
you can self certify.

No idea who the recognised companies are.

I'd have little problem with the whole part P if it allowed existing qualifications to define 'competant persons' - fair enough - I might know that I'm confident to do power and lighting but not to do a central heating system, but that doesn't give any confidence to anyone else as I have no qualification.

So how is it ever going to fly, especially in the first year?

Where's the information?

There seem to be some schemes for electricians, but they're excessive for heating system needs. OFTEC say "just carry on", presumably this is CORGI's position too. There aren't any schemes available yet and it seems there won't be for several months. It's no problem for anyone but the installer as he'll be responsible :evil:

The cost for electricians is £hundreds, ridiculous for heating requirements. Even when people have got certified, it won't stop the bad tradesmen (a large proportion). An OFTEC inspector told me over 80% of the people he saw were "rubbish" (as quoted). Presumably CORGI are similar, assessment requirements are deliberately low enough to get most people passed and paying their money.

I phoned corgi and they dont know, couldn't tell me, I lost my temper and told the guy it was **** poor and fukkin ridiculous.

I phoned my inspector and he said forget it for now.

It's a bloody joke but no one is laughing.

Sponsored Links