Protherm 80E combi F1 overheat error & leaking mystery

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi folks,

Hope you can help me. I'm a mechanic, but no experience with combi's so need to pick your brains.

I have a Protherm 80E boiler, about 5 years old and still all shiny inside & clean burner so I'd like to fix it. It has had light use, single person before us (me + wife) in a 2 bed semi. It has two problems.

1) it's leaking from a black part which has a few wires coming out of it. It's dripping continually and I have to fill from the loop every couple of days or it gives me a F0 code with no water pressure. Also air builds up in the rads and if I push the pressure past 3.5 bar it makes a clanging noise and water tips out from the bottom of the boiler (relief valve?). I don't know if that's important, but I'm sure the leak from the black part is where the water is escaping - how air is getting in so regularly I don't know.

Two pics of the leaking black part which looks to be attached to another larger brass part - the black piece I'm talking about has a multi plug with wires coming out of it and a sticker with a part number. You can also just see the rust on the chassis indicating long term leaking which is getting worse:

http://www.ukdesigneritems.co.uk/greg/protherm/protherm2.jpg
http://www.ukdesigneritems.co.uk/greg/protherm/protherm3.jpg

2) it's giving a F1 code about twice a day now & cutting out (no hot water or CH) - this is urgent. I had the same problem and the manual says it's an overheat code. 6 months ago I replaced the overheat thermostat and the problem went away. Now it's back. I didn't replace the other overheat thermostat, or the hot water thermistor, not sure if I should just replace them all? Or if they are okay and something else is causing the thing to overheat? Once I press reset on the control panel it's okay for about a day at present, central heating seems to trouble it more than hot water.

View of front panel: