Refilling Glowworm 24CI Boiler

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a degree in engineering but can't for the life of me work out what's going wrong with my Glowworm 24CI Boiler.

It's got a low pressure light, 0.6Bar and has consequently switched off. I have read similar forum responses and downloaded the user manual http://www.glow-wormorders.co.uk/manuals/pdf/24ci-18si.pdf if anyone else needs it.

They all point to turning a blue knob at the base of the boiler and watching the pressure rise. I turn mine and.... water pours from the bottom of the boiler, from a copper pipe with a threaded end on it. Am I right in thinking I am missing the refilling loop? And if that's the case- is it possible to buy this piece (what should I be paying?) as a spare and fit it oneself. I'm about a 6/10 on the DIY-o-meter.

Any advice would be gratefully recieved, as I am about to loose big man points from my other half for soaking her ironing which was being stored under the boiler!

Cheers,

James.

Sponsored Links
You need to identify exactly what is leaking!

It might be the zero pressure valve which does dribble a bit while filling or it may be the PRV with a little red tag on the manual open lever.

This manufacturer has an 0906 premium rate telephone number for user advice !!!!!!!!!!!!! WHY ???

They make bad boilers and fleece those who have problems and need advice.

Tony

Thanks Tony!

Thanks for such a fast response! Let battle commence... I am now going torch in hand to find the leaking pipe! Back ASAP!

James.

Thanks for the tip about dribbling valves - not something I would have ever thought of Tony.

Bowl and umbrella in hand (and torch in teeth!) I went for it and after an initial spurt I guess the pressure was great enough to trip the valve and it's now at 0.8Bar. And to top it all I have huge admiration from the other half!

I am almost out of the dog house for sawing through the Kitchen table whilst using it as a workbench!