1. We are pleased to announce the 'Home Automation' forum. Click here to get involved!

split load consumer

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by m240381, 26 Jan 2004.

This topic originated from the How to page called Miniature circuit breakers (MCBs).

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. m240381

    Joined:
    30 Dec 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What fuses go on which circuit. I have upstairs lights, downstairs lights, upstairs sockets, downstairs sockets, Cooker, Alarm, garage, Shower, Utility room and immersion heater. I would like to know which circuit each of these go on in a split load consumer unit.
     
  2. ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    51,614
    Thanks Received:
    2,018
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    They should all be on their own circuits.

    Why are you asking this? What do you really want to know? What are you thinking of doing?
     
  3. il78

    Joined:
    6 Oct 2003
    Messages:
    701
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    RCD Protected

    Downstairs Sockets - 32A (if ringmain - 20A if radial)
    Upstairs Sockets - 32A (as Above)
    Shower 32A / 40A (depends on rating / RCD recommended)
    Garage Supply (depends on what cable used)
    Cooker 32A (depends on rating / RCD if socket combined)

    NON RCD Protected

    Immersion - 20A
    Alarm - 6A (fuse spur usually connected to downrate again to 3A)
    Upstairs Lights - 6A
    Downstairs Lights - 6A

    Utility Room - What have you got in there....sockets....ring or radial...

    Are you replacing the board yourself.......if so...dont.....if you asking this question you aint competant (no offence)
     
  4. ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    51,614
    Thanks Received:
    2,018
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    il78 - you took the words right out of my head
     
  5. il78

    Joined:
    6 Oct 2003
    Messages:
    701
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Great minds..... ;)
     
  6. securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    25,882
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not nit-picking, but some alarm panel manufacturers recommend a 2A fuse.

    I never used to fit 2A, until a pcb from a well-known manufacturer went up in smoke. When they asked what mains fuse I had fitted , I said 3A.

    Ha ha they said, it should be two. And I ended up funding a replacement pcb myself.
     
  7. breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,326
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    a 3 amp fuse is fine, what you have to consider is what fuse is in the fuse holder in the panel. (i do mean on the primary side of the transformer, but inside the panel)
     
  8. securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    25,882
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Breezer


    trying not to be picky, but here is extract from installation manual of ADE Accenta:

    "Use a 2A fuse in the spur or at the distribution board."
     
  9. ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    51,614
    Thanks Received:
    2,018
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can you get 2A BS1362 fuses? Or 2A fusewire? Or 2A cartridge fuses for distribution boards? Or 2A MCBs?
     
  10. breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,326
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    but not many people install ade panels because not many engineers can understand them (particularly the karizma) i wonder why?
     
  11. Scoby_Beasley

    Joined:
    1 May 2003
    Messages:
    1,881
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Durham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yup
     
  12. ban-all-sheds

    Joined:
    27 Aug 2003
    Messages:
    51,614
    Thanks Received:
    2,018
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's alright then.
     
  13. securespark

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2004
    Messages:
    25,882
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Cheshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ADE happen to be in the NW at least, the most popular panel I come across. Apart from the Karisma which is long brown bread.
     
  14. breezer

    Joined:
    3 Jan 2003
    Messages:
    23,326
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sussex
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    its scantronic / menvier down here (up 't big road from london)
     
  15. BFG

    BFG

    Joined:
    8 Feb 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So when split loads came out first, when time served electricians asked for info leaflet - in the time between asking for it and when it arrived, did they become incompetent?

    I don't see why a request for the latest techincal information renders one incompetent. It is a very competent thing to ask for the latest information, rather than blunder on in ignorance.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page