swa cable colours

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everybody
I am doing the ground works on a renovation project and would like to run a swa cable in a trench at the same time.. The meter box is 8M from the consumer unit. Now I understand that the cable needs to be 25mm but can I use 2 core in brown /blue and use the shield for earth. because the only 3 core I have seen is in 3 phase colours. we have a multi point earth system, with the earth and neutral connected together. I am not an electrician. Cheers Ted.

Sponsored Links
Whether 25mm / 2 core / 3 core or whatever is suitable depends on several other factors.

The best option will be to install some 50mm ducting (or larger) with a draw rope inside, so the correct cable can be installed later.

I normally run three core using both armour of cable and one core as the CPC/connection to earth and identify the cable colour cores accordingly at all terminations.
So if you have
Black
Grey
Brown
I would sleeve them
Blue
Green/Yellow
and leave Brown as Phase.

Hi everybody
I am doing the ground works on a renovation project and would like to run a swa cable in a trench at the same time.. The meter box is 8M from the consumer unit. Now I understand that the cable needs to be 25mm but can I use 2 core in brown /blue and use the shield for earth. because the only 3 core I have seen is in 3 phase colours. we have a multi point earth system, with the earth and neutral connected together. I am not an electrician. Cheers Ted.

As per flameport - please just install a duct at a suitable depth with a draw rope in it. You are asking too many questions to be able to carry out the electrical work yourself, leave that to a competant professional.
It would be best getting them on board from the off with regard to the ducting size, depth and route.

Sponsored Links
So if you have Black, Grey, Brown, I would sleeve them Blue, Green/Yellow, and leave Brown as Phase.