Wages overpayment

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
My manager sat me down today. He's had an email from HR regarding my pay. Between September 2020 and August 2021 I was overpaid £620. They're now after claiming this back from me, and my manager is arranging a face to face meeting with HR for me.

I'm an apprentice. The time period above relates to year two of my apprenticeship during which apparently I was placed in the wrong apprenticeship pay grade. I'm now in year 4. I'm on a yearly increasing salary so it goes up each year but I've never been formally told how much by, it isn't in my contract, and I've also never been told whether the company wide annual pay rises apply to the apprenticeship rates! Somtimes they do, sometimes they don't. I've also been told this overpayment mistake has affected other apprentices in my year.

Being a mature apprentice I had to think hard about taking the role as it represented a significant pay cut for me and I have family and a house. I started the job before the cost of living crisis etc so although my pay has increased quite a bit since I started, our disposable income still isn't amazing. My wife has developed some health issues which prevent her from working much overtime at her job.

The company sounds keen to reclaim this money as I'm effectively on a temporary contract as an apprentice (the company has a 96% retention rate for apprentices though, but I, along with a lot of current apprentices, don't plan to stick around for long after I qualify as its turning into a bit of a sh*tshow across the board) and my contract ends in August at the latest.

I'm aware they are entitled to claim the money back. But I plan to go into the meeting pleading poverty (lay it on thick) and maybe mention the local rag - they're terrified of them. The situation is entirely their fault and I was completely unaware of this overpayment until now.

Anybody been in a similar situation?

Sponsored Links