DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Combined fused spur and socket?


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Hibbo

from United Kingdom

Joined: 25 Apr 2006
Posts: 105
Location: West Lothian,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 4 times

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 12:16 pm Reply with quote

Hello!

I'm going to be running a fused spur, it will be taken from where there is currently a standard double socket. In the interests of efficiency (ie laziness), I am wondering if a combined fused spur and single socket unit is available that would fit in the same back-box as the current double socket. I've never seen such a thing, and I'm guessing I'll have to install a new box for the spur, but I just thought I'd ask!

Cheers.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
holmslaw

from Vanuatu

Joined: 12 Dec 2006
Posts: 5844
Location: Vanuatu
Thanked: 400 times

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 12:37 pm Reply with quote

..


Last edited by holmslaw on Fri Mar 30, 2012 11:25 am, edited 1 time in total
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
PrenticeBoyofDerry

from United Kingdom

Joined: 30 Jun 2009
Posts: 17291
Location: Londonderry,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1719 times

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 12:57 pm Reply with quote

hibbo,
does the spur need to be fused?
how many sockets will you be running from it?
can you extend the circuit rater than spur?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Hibbo

from United Kingdom

Joined: 25 Apr 2006
Posts: 105
Location: West Lothian,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 4 times

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:41 pm Reply with quote

The spur will be supplying a garden shed, that's why I want it to be fused (and switchable). I know the best plan would be to run it from an extra breaker at the CU, but I have decided to go with a spur from the kitchen.

It has to be flush mounted really, so for the work involved to fit the dual box I may as well just fit an extra single...

Thanks for the replies
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ban-all-sheds

from United Kingdom

Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 46292
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1666 times

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 2:08 pm Reply with quote

How far away is the garden shed?

What will the load be in it?

What type and size of cable will you be using?

How will the cable be installed?

Is the circuit you're spurring from RCD protected?

What type of supply do you have?

Are there any extraneous-conductive-parts in the shed?

What tests will you carry out on the cable once installed?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Chri5

from United Kingdom

Joined: 19 Jan 2007
Posts: 3991
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 341 times

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 2:35 pm Reply with quote




Since it takes a 13a fuse surely it counts as a f/spur with sockets icon_biggrin.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ban-all-sheds

from United Kingdom

Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 46292
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1666 times

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 4:31 pm Reply with quote

I'd love to see you use one to supply a permanently connected cable on the load side of the fuse.... icon_biggrin.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Hibbo

from United Kingdom

Joined: 25 Apr 2006
Posts: 105
Location: West Lothian,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 4 times

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 4:49 pm Reply with quote

ban-all-sheds wrote:
How far away is the garden shed?

What will the load be in it?

What type and size of cable will you be using?

How will the cable be installed?

Is the circuit you're spurring from RCD protected?

What type of supply do you have?

Are there any extraneous-conductive-parts in the shed?

What tests will you carry out on the cable once installed?


There will be two 60w lamps, and a couple of sockets (which will have nothing more demanding than basic power-tools plugged in to them). A 13A supply will be plenty.

I am using 2.5mm^2 SWA cable, the run will be about 30m. It will be secured to a brick wall.

The house has a TNC-S supply, and has a 30mA RCD protecting the kitchen circuit from where the spur will be taken.

There are no extraneous-conductive parts in the shed (it's entirely wooden)

I will Meggar the complete spur before I connect it to the FCU, and after connection I'll do an earth-fault-loop impedance test from the shed.

Thanks for you concerns, does my plan sound safe?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Combined Fused Spur & Socket Outlet. 21 7340 Sat Jan 09, 2010 3:12 pm
Combined 1 gang socket + TV aerial socket? 14 1360 Fri Jan 14, 2011 11:40 pm
45 amp cooker switch combined with socket? 8 680 Mon Jan 18, 2010 3:32 pm
Combined socket and FCU. 5 540 Tue Jul 03, 2007 12:07 pm
Wanted---Combined Light switch and socket ??? 10 440 Sun Mar 30, 2014 7:33 am


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.