DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

"live" neutral wire


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > General DIY
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ripvan

from Australia

Joined: 01 Mar 2003
Posts: 19
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat Mar 01, 2003 5:17 am Reply with quote

I'm having a problem hard wiring a new circular fluoro light in place of a tube fluoro.
When I removed the existing cabling from the back of the old fluoro housing, I didn't mark what went where.
We now have no hardwired lights working and at the new light the neutral is "live" continuously. When I turn that light switch "on" both active and neutral are "live".
At the junction box (for that light) in the ceiling cavity, there is the cable coming from the previous light, a cable that dead ends 6' away in another junction box, a cable that presumably goes to the next light, and a cable which goes to the light switch.
What I have done is
1. connect all the earths together and extend down to earth connection on light fitting
2. connect all the actives and extend down to one side of light switch
3. connect other side of light switch to active connection on light fitting
4. connect remaining neutrals and extend to neutral connection on light fitting
I think I have the same as the bottom image at: http://www.diydata.com/planning/electric_lights/electric_lights.htm#wiring

Can anyone suggest where I have gone wrong?
Thanks
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
breezer

from United Kingdom

Joined: 03 Jan 2003
Posts: 23328
Location: Sussex,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 27 times

PostPosted: Sat Mar 01, 2003 7:21 am Reply with quote

hello ripvan, what you have written is correct, however you say We now have no hardwired lights working and at the new light the neutral is "live" continuously. When I turn that light switch "on" both active and neutral are "live".

Although the drawing you refer to is correct you may find this one easier to see where you have gone wrong.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ripvan

from Australia

Joined: 01 Mar 2003
Posts: 19
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2003 12:38 am Reply with quote

Hmm, I replied to you last night breezer, but it hasn't shown up icon_sad.gif
What I asked was is it possible for an live neutral to be caused by an open circuit within the loop?
I rerouted (without disconnect/reconnect) some cabling and maybe a wire has broken at a connector somewhere?
Thanks for your time...appreciate it.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
breezer

from United Kingdom

Joined: 03 Jan 2003
Posts: 23328
Location: Sussex,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 27 times

PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2003 7:38 am Reply with quote

yes because you can get a backfeed through a lamp. Are you using a meter and does this say your neutral is live?.

If you are using a meter then if you find which is the cable going to the switch, the OTHER cables can be conected red to red black to black etc.

Also if you have moved any other lights i should check there for a broken wire.

(there does seem to be a problem with this particular post, i posted, it said "problem sending email" but my reply was there


Last edited by breezer on Sun Mar 02, 2003 7:40 am, edited 1 time in total
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ripvan

from Australia

Joined: 01 Mar 2003
Posts: 19
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2003 8:47 am Reply with quote

fixed it!!
I am using a test lamp that my dad (was an electrician, lol) made in 1954.
Still works well icon_smile.gif

When I moved the cabling around I broke a wire at the next junction along.
Repaired it....bingo!

Many thanks for your help breezer.
Nice to have found this forum. You can bet I'll be back icon_smile.gif
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > General DIY All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Permanent live wire 2 5240 Sun Sep 01, 2002 4:39 pm
Corrosion on Live wire of shower pullcord switch 2 860 Fri Mar 21, 2003 1:20 pm
Live Wire! 5 1020 Wed Nov 20, 2002 3:22 pm
Wire Carousel for the kitchen, can't find the right size 6 720 Fri Nov 06, 2009 3:29 pm
Earth wire to fuse box 12 7420 Mon Jun 09, 2003 10:37 am


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.