DIYnot
Local | Network
   DIYnot > Forums
Local | Network
DIYnot Network Local DIYnot Network Local  
  Forum IndexForum Index     RulesRules    HelpHelp     Join FREERegister Free     About CookiesCookies     SearchSearch     LoginLogin 

Spa Bath installation and bonding*Newbie question*


 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Gadfium

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 10
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 5:55 pm Reply with quote

OK, here goes (and apologies if this is incorrect as i am a newb!)

i am finishing off an extension that was added to my house last year. The extension contains an ensuite bathroom, into which I am fitting a spa bath. The bathroom will also have a power shower (over the bath)...the pump for this is under the hot tank in a sperate airing cupboard.

The sparky that did the electrics ran a cable from a downstairs ring main to supply the spa bath. I am going to fit a switched fused spur with a 30A RCD (both mounted into the plasterboard bedroom/bathroom wall- facing into the bedroom). The flex from the bath pump will terminate in a waterproof junction box under the bath, then to the RCD. I have also bonded the bath & shower pipes to the bath legs, sink hot & cold pipes and the radiator, using 10mm cable (should be 4mm......but should be no harm!).

Does this sound OK??? Do I run the new bonded earth to the earth pole in the RCD (or junction box), or does it need to run back to the existing airing cupboard, where the old pipes are bonded to the immersion earth point?

Also, will i need to install a ceiling pull switch for the shower pump (I am going to fit an RCD off an existing spur to power the pump)??

I hope I have given enough info....if not please let me know.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators

If you do not want to see this advert, click here to login or if you are new click here to join free.
Gadfium

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 10
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2005 10:02 pm Reply with quote

Anyone????? Any help/advice much appreciated
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ban-all-sheds

from United Kingdom

Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 48576
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1838 times

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 8:20 pm Reply with quote

Gadfium wrote:
Do I run the new bonded earth to the earth pole in the RCD (or junction box), or does it need to run back to the existing airing cupboard, where the old pipes are bonded to the immersion earth point?

Both.

Quote:
Also, will i need to install a ceiling pull switch for the shower pump (I am going to fit an RCD off an existing spur to power the pump)??

The shower pump should have a means of local isolation, so you do need a switch. Whether it should be a pull-switch depends on where you want it...

Also, the existing spur - is it a fused one itself?

And why have you got all these extra RCDs if these are spurs off the downstairs ring - surely that's already RCD protected?
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Gadfium

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 10
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Mon Mar 07, 2005 10:36 pm Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply.

Quote:
The shower pump should have a means of local isolation, so you do need a switch

I had intended to put a switched spur to the shower pump off a nearby socket (or off the immersion heater point....would that be better??). I take it that there will then be no need to have a pull switch in the bathroom???

Quote:
And why have you got all these extra RCDs if these are spurs off the downstairs ring

I don't think so. The main CU doesn't have RCDs...fuses only (replacing it is a job for another day). It had assumed that as it was connecting to a bath that a dedicated RCD would be best for safety reasons.


Quote:
Also, the existing spur - is it a fused one itself?

I believe so.....
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
ban-all-sheds

from United Kingdom

Joined: 27 Aug 2003
Posts: 48576
Location: London,
United Kingdom
Thanked: 1838 times

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 1:58 am Reply with quote

Gadfium wrote:
I had intended to put a switched spur to the shower pump off a nearby socket (or off the immersion heater point....would that be better??). I take it that there will then be no need to have a pull switch in the bathroom???
A switched FCU will be fine for isolation purposes, but I don't think I've ever seen a switched RCD FCU. As for which circuit, there are those who deprecate the use of "immersion heater circuits" for additional purposes, but I maintain that a circuit is a circuit, and provided that the cable and the fuse/MCB are rated in accordance with the expected load then there's nothing wrong with this.

Quote:
The main CU doesn't have RCDs...fuses only (replacing it is a job for another day). It had assumed that as it was connecting to a bath that a dedicated RCD would be best for safety reasons.

Oh yes.

Quote:
Quote:
Also, the existing spur - is it a fused one itself?

I believe so.....

Good-oh.
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Gadfium

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 10
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 4:36 pm Reply with quote

ban-all-sheds wrote:
I don't think I've ever seen a switched RCD FCU.
I have put in a switched fused unit, then the RCD.....probably belt and braces, but it does allow me to isolate the sub-circuit

ban-all-sheds wrote:
As for which circuit, there are those who deprecate the use of "immersion heater circuits" for additional purposes, but I maintain that a circuit is a circuit,
Hmmm.... on reflection, I will probably not use the immersion circuit, for the simple reason that acccess is awkward. There is a 13A socket beside the airing cupboard where the shower pump now lives, and I will probably spur off this and stick a RCD in to power the shower pump. Would this be OK????
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
theshogun

from United Kingdom

Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 102
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 5:34 pm Reply with quote

You could use a combined FCU RCD less conections to do av from screwfix
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Gadfium

from United Kingdom

Joined: 06 Mar 2005
Posts: 10
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:25 pm Reply with quote

I was on Screfix today, and all i could get was http://www.screwfix.com/app/sfd/cat/pro.jsp?ts=13371&id=14770

I am sure that I did see the switched FCU with RCD in the past tho.....
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
theshogun

from United Kingdom

Joined: 25 Feb 2005
Posts: 102
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2005 11:17 pm Reply with quote

thats the one rcd fcu 13 amp
Back to top
 Alert Moderators
Search this topic :: View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DIYnot.com Forum Index > Electrics UK All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Similar Topics   Replies   Views   Posted 
Sorry, newbie with yet another mains downlighter question 9 1081 Sat May 12, 2007 1:20 pm
Newbie hi all quik question 13 900 Fri Dec 16, 2005 11:57 am
simplest question ever for a newbie 33 1980 Sun Oct 07, 2007 11:40 am
No earthing system in my house - newbie question 5 740 Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:29 am
Newbie dimmer question 14 360 Wed Sep 08, 2010 12:43 pm


 
DIYnot
Find an Expert | Find a Supplier | Search DIYnot.com
Network | Advertising | Newsletter
DIY | DIY How To | @home | DIY Wiki | DIY Forum
By using this site you agree to our Terms of Service / Disclaimer.
Please read our Privacy Policy. Copyright © 2000-2014 DIYnot Limited.