100A 3-Phase supply header

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
Can somebody please post a pic showing a 100A 3-phase supply header with the covers and fuses removed but the wires in place?

Im an electrical engineer and am having a non-meeting of minds with a senior colleague over our office supply.

He thinks the earth is the cable armour and there are 4 cores (3p+n). The neutral connects to the star point of the sub station and the earth goes via a NGR.

Im convinced that is not and its a 3 core cable and the armour forms the earth and neutral which is solidly connected to the Tx star point.

Unfortunately i cant remove the terminal plate which will show the earth and neutral being screwed together (if im right which im sure i am) without taking out the phase fuses which may upset those trying to work.

So if somebody has a good pic showing the insides of a header that would be great!

Thanks,
Stuart

Sponsored Links
I don't have a picture, but both of you are right...

If it's a 3 phase TNS supply via SWA then you will have 4 cores (L1, L2, L3 & N) and the armour sheath as earth

however,,, if it's a 3 phase TNC-S supply via SWA then you will have 3 cores (L1, L2 & L3) and the armour sheath will be your earth and neutral

It will be fed via a 'waveform concentric' cable. Not SWA.

It maybe a three or four core waveform. The outer concentric cores of the cable will be copper, not steel, and are concentric clockwise, then anticlockwise, then clockwise, then anticlockwise (hense waveform).

If it is a TN-S supply, It will be a 4 core waveform, the outer concentric being just the earth.

If it is a TN-C-S supply, it will be a 3 core waveform, the outer being a CNE / PEN conductor (concentric neutral earth / protective earthed neutral).

Not sure what you mean by NGR?

All supply types end up with the neutral and earth returning to the substations star point by some means or another.

Here is a TP head typically used in industrial units in my DNO's area.