17th edition 1st fix.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone
Im an Industrial electrician qualified to the 16th edition regs and I have done a few rewires over the years but not since the 17th came out. I will be doing the new regs in march through he company I work for. However I need to do a first fix for a kitchen & downstairs ring main next week. It would be helpful to know the answers to the following questions:

1. Socket height minimum 450mm?
2. Cables under plastic capping in a channel in the brick (if less than 50mm deep must be 30mA rcd protected)?
3. Earths from CH rads (are Required?) connected to nearest socket. (2.5 or 6mm?)
4. Socket height above kitchen work top?
5. Appliances under worktops should have spur unit isolation above the worktop? (Wired to a single socket or appliance outlet under the worktop?)
6. Is it Ok to put surface mounted sockets inside base units for appliances?
7. Do cables under suspended floors need to be clipped to the joists?
8. Seperate Ring Main for kitchen is now a requirement of the regs?
9 Gas boiler is in the kitchen does this need an earth bond (size?) direct back to main the main earth ( Gas incomer is not in the kitchen but next to the electric incomer).

A bit of a long list I know but any hints in line with the 17th edition are appreciated.
Cheers
Ian

Sponsored Links
1. Not in this case
2. Yes, if normal t+e
3. No
4. So as not to strain flexes
5. A good idea if socket becomes hard to get at (better as flex outlet to keep fuses above level
6. Yes, but better to fit on the more substantial sides than flimsy back hardboard.
7.Should be
8.Not a reg. but a good idea
9.No

It would be helpful to know the answers to the following questions:

2. Cables under plastic capping in a channel in the brick (if less than 50mm deep must be 30mA rcd protected)?

A bit of a long list I know but any hints in line with the 17th edition are appreciated.
Cheers
Ian