A bit off topic...info about Rayburn ombudsman?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all, sorry its a bit off topic but hoping one of you guys will know...
My elderly neighbors have had a Rayburn installed in their kitchen (just for cooking)
I went in the other day to tell them that when they light their Rayburn it floods our house with smoke....loads of the stuff....
When i entered the kitchen i could smell soot pretty strong....
They said they have been having problems with it and have also been feeling tired and the ladys asma has been realy bad since the fitting....

I am no expert on these things but the flu joints looked awfull, they were loose...
Also the flue extending out of the roof was only clearing the roof by a couple of feet and was also at the lowest point at the back of the house...

They got the company back who extended the flue upwards by a few more feet and then would not leave until she had paid an extra £250 ....Being elderly they just paid up

Is there an ombudsman or regulator for Rayburn installations that they could contact? for some advise?

Many thanks in advance...

Sponsored Links
Thanks Hugh....yes i did make them stop using it......
but after the firm came out again and charged them for doing something i think should of been done in the first place, they said it was safe for use....

I still disagree but i am not an expert......this is why i am trying to find an address for the old couple to go above the firms heads with this....

Thanks for the link...

Sponsored Links
When I was self-employed, I met a couple of customers with solid fuel Rayburns which had become really dangerous.

One customer refused to believe that a 35 year old appliance with obvious cracks in the flue box needed any attention because 'they should last longer than that!'.