A new problem every day.....?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi - newbie here and could really do with some help and suggestions!

We've recently had a problem with hot water - or lack of. I looked on here and found a couple of suggestions which I followed (topping up header tank seemed to work) but then a couple of days later, the pump starting making a horrendous noise and then stopped. It was 15 years old, so didn't do too bad.

We had a pro come yesterday to replace the pump but he couldn't just take the old one out, he had to drain the whole system and replace a valve before fitting it. Last night, it was making a really loud noise and the rads upstairs were hot but downstairs were cold. I repeatedly bled the system and then when I checked this morning, one was hot, one was lukewarm and the 3rd just off cold.

The plumber came back because we'd called last night but wasn't very helpful. He left saying that there was a blockage 'somewhere' although it could be air, and that we basically needed to replace all the pipework. It's 8mm pipe so I know it's poor, but it's all I've got and I really can't afford to replace it.

We were left with no heating and no hot water :( and as I have a 16 month old, am not happy! I've messed around all afternoon with the system and this is where I got to....

The pipe from the pump was cold and so were all the other pipes. I banged the pipe and could then hear the water moving - it got hot very quickly
The pump is VERY hot
The pipe to the pump is hot
The pipes going to the rads are hot but the rads are cold - even after bleeding until water came out
One rad (which barely worked when the rest of the system was fine) and which is the last rad in the system is now working (told it was last which was why it wasn't working well before...??)
No hot water even though the pipe from the pump into the tank is VERY hot