1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Accenta Optima zone 2 not immediate

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by DavidJ123, 22 May 2020.

  1. DavidJ123

    DavidJ123

    Joined:
    22 May 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi
    First time posting on the forum and I must thank contributors who have helped me sort out alarm problems shared with others.

    I have an LED Accenta/Optima Gen 4 and all the setting up from the Engineers Manual has gone well.
    My system is very simple
    2 zones
    Front door zone 1 (With 20 secs delay entry and exit)
    A couple of PIR’s in series zone 2
    I have a delay of approx 20 secs on my PIR zone 2 when activated which I want to make immediate.
    Can’t work out how!!
    I tried rewiring and resetting to zone 3 which is an immediate zone but when I do this the front door “entry” (Zone 1) goes to immediate as well.
    I’m puzzled
    David
     
  2. libby lou lou

    libby lou lou

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2006
    Messages:
    3,756
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  3. DavidJ123

    DavidJ123

    Joined:
    22 May 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Libby Lou Lou (great name btw)
    I had had a look at p36 earlier today and had carried out a check but my zone 2 was not showing lit up therefore, I guess, not timed. zone 1 was lit though which was expected.
    I think your call was a good one and a totally logical way of getting the immediate action from zone 2 that I’m looking for but it doesn’t seem to do it for me.
    Hmmmmm!
     
  4. DavidJ123

    DavidJ123

    Joined:
    22 May 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Woke up this morning with what I think is a solution.
    I think the Honeywell logic is that the zones have to be used in a sequence (zone 1, zone2, zone 3) and if you skip a zone (zone 1, blank, zone3) then it seems to screw things up.
    So if I bridge zone 2 and put my PIR into zone 3 (which is an immediate zone) and of course make it a used zone, then the system, and me, should be happy.
    I’ll try it when the neighbours are awake.
     
  5. secureiam

    secureiam

    Joined:
    20 Jun 2014
    Messages:
    4,101
    Thanks Received:
    493
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I would default the programming and start again.

    First of all its not a great idea on a panel with multipul zones to cram everything on a single zone, even if its possible.

    Unless there is no other way, one device one zone is always the recommendation.

    It may help if you look at the flow diagrams on programming and program default values.

    Without knowing which ones are where in the property, wrt to the entry route and elsewhere its difficult to advise you on how the panel should be programmed.
     
  6. DavidJ123

    DavidJ123

    Joined:
    22 May 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks secureiam
    Agree with you not to cram. I’ve only got 2 PIR’s (in series) and even if I separated them I think one would be on on zone 2 and thus not immediate. The one on zone 3 would be ok.
    I feel I’m missing something and will study the flow diagram again as you advise.
    I do recall another posting where someone had a similar problem and for some reason was not using zone 2.
    Thanks again
    David
     
  7. libby lou lou

    libby lou lou

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2006
    Messages:
    3,756
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    page 37 is saying (to me) that zone 2 is inhibited, you need to go to programme 3, to inhibit or uninhibit your zones....if that makes any sense...
     
  8. DavidJ123

    DavidJ123

    Joined:
    22 May 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks
    Must admit I’m confused by the terms inhibit/uninhibit so I kind of ignored p37.
    So for me wanting “immediate” on zone 2 do I want a LED light on or off when in the 3=Inhibit Zone.
    Cheers
    David
     
  9. Sponsored Links
  10. libby lou lou

    libby lou lou

    Joined:
    16 Oct 2006
    Messages:
    3,756
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Lancashire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I believe you need to uninhibit, (sp)....
     
  11. DavidJ123

    DavidJ123

    Joined:
    22 May 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Bingo!
    Zone 2 Inhibit Zone was lit so I “unlit” it
    and I now have “immediate” zone 2
    Thank you so much and to sucureiam for advise.
    Cheers, what a great forum!
    David
     
  12. DavidJ123

    DavidJ123

    Joined:
    22 May 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ah spoke to soon
    Zone 1 front door entry has gone back to immediate
     
  13. DavidJ123

    DavidJ123

    Joined:
    22 May 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just implemented the idea above that I woke up with and it works.
    I feel it’s a “codge”
    but it works, so all is well I guess.
    Thanks to all
    David
     
  14. Handymanjo

    Handymanjo

    Joined:
    2 Feb 2016
    Messages:
    1,426
    Thanks Received:
    266
    Location:
    Newark
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Default the panel.
    Default settings are
    Zone 1 Timed
    Zone 2 inhibit
    Zone 3-8 immediate
    This will give you the settings you want.
    A inhibit zone will allow you to walk from front door timed circuit through hall inhibit circuit to keypad /Panel during an unsettling function.
    If you do not start the entry timer then an inhibit zone is instant.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  15. DavidJ123

    DavidJ123

    Joined:
    22 May 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Handymanjo
    As you see I posted my “codge” at the same time as your professional solution.
    I’ve woken enough neighbours up this afternoon so will stay with my “codge” for the time being.
    Thanks
    David
     
  16. DavidJ123

    DavidJ123

    Joined:
    22 May 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Handymanjo
    In my excitement in finding a “cure” I didn’t give your posting the consideration it deserved.
    I hadn’t realised the quite clever “Inhibit” functionality of zone 2 and since my panel is next to the front door, I never considered the case where the panel might be in a PIR area which as installers you guys must find to “inhibit” to be an essential requirement.
    So thanks for your explanation which I’m sure other DIY’ers like me will find useful in trying to understand p37
     
Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page