Additional Lights

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I hope someone can help.

I am looking to install a new security light on the outside of my garage.
Inside the garage there is an existing consumer unit that feeds 1x socket and 1 light/switch.

My question is, Can I convert the existing 1 way switch into a 2 gang and feed the new light from that, or

will I need to extend the circuit from the existing ceiling rose into the new security light then on to a new switch?

Or is there another/better way of doing it?

Hope this makes sense to you!

cheers

Sponsored Links
Yes you could change your existing switch to a 2 gang and power the light off that, assuming you have a functional rcd breaker in your consumer unit. Personally I would change the single plug socket to a double and power it via a plug, assuming its the sensor type spotlight im thinking of(when the switch is only really used for maintenance)but be sure to change the plug fuse to a 5 amp. Note I am not an electrician so a proffesionals second on this post may be required (UK)

If I were to go for the 2 Gang switch option,
can you tell me how I would wire up the outside light within the switch?

cheers

first u need to run a neutral to the new light which can be found in ur existing ligh.
U link the two commons in the sw and connect ur existing rd wire to these two commons. connect ur existing blak to L2 and run another cable from other L2 of sw to ur new light and mark this with red tape to indicate switched live.

Sponsored Links
Check what cables you have at your switch ...
there's a possibility that the feed from the consumer unit goes to the switch first then up to the light. If this is the case then there will be a nuetral joint behind the switch and it is only a case of running your new cable to the security light from the switch.