Advice -Kewtech KT64DL multifunction test meter ? RCD test ??

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

I’m an industrial spark by trade but just got purchased a cheap KT64DL.

4 year apprenticeship
ONC
HNC
HND
Degree

I’ve always used flukes/meggers in heavy industry so this is new to me.

I did do my 16th Ed when I started in 1991 but since then I’ve dealt with industry stuff. PLCs. SCADA. Motors. Every type of sensor/relay/contactor /etc etc can imagine. Upto 11Kv.

I’ve just watched this video on testing an RCD on a live RCBO.

It gives the trip times but not the trip value in mA? Or am I missing something?

Cheers

Sponsored Links
Trip times is one test
Actual trip current is another one.
The KT64DL and most other RCD testers can do both, but they are separate things, not done at the same time.

What is the process to measure for trip current?
I’m getting nuisance trips on my old Wylex RCD.
Obviously set to RCD and connect as usual.
Just unsure what to select on the F1 to F4 buttons?
I presumed the auto test would display trip times AND trip current when set to auto??

I know the old Megger I had used to.

Anyone advise.

Cheers

Sponsored Links
The point I would question is since the RCBO is connected to a circuit, there will be some leakage on the circuit, so one needs to test what that leakage is, if you had a 15 mA leakage OK the test should trip at the half setting, but with say a 7 mA back ground leakage you are actually testing it is tripping at 37 mA not 30 mA.

In the main we see much lower, so a 2 mA leakage maybe can be ignored, a ramp test will likely show it trips at 27 mA or less, so still 1 mA within limits, but one can't simply ignore the back ground leakage.