Advice on skimming

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I would like to re-skim this internal wall on a 1930’s semi. It looks like the half of it’s been rendered with lime and half of it with cement. Can I just PVA and skim with multi finish? Or need to do something else first?
And second question: Part of the plaster on the sealing has fallen off and exposed the plaster boards. I think they are the original old plasterboards. What’s the best way to patch them up?
Thanks in advance and please be gentle with me if I sound silly  I’m just a newbie.

Sponsored Links
Hi, I can't answer question 1 but I can help with question 2.

If plaster has fallen from the ceiling, then what that normally means is the plasterboard is 'loose'. This can be fixed by refixing the ceiling with longer screws and banging in any nail heads you see. Then having it plastered.

But what I did in my home was to re-board the ceiling with new plasterboard and have the ceiling plastered. Looks loverly.

Andy

PVA to the rescue.
1 As long as there is no loose areas should be ok for 2 coat skim. If the stronger sand cement section is to lower part its prob part of a damp proofing operation and more recently applied.
2 Unlikely 1930 used board, probably had lath and plaster then, i guess its been changed, check for loose `feeling` in board lots of DIYers are scared to put fixings in every 8 inch. so boards move and then...

Disaster!!!
I did PVA the wall (5:1) yesterday and twice today (3:1). Still the plaster started cracking after only 15 min on the wall. I used B&Q branded PVA and Multi Finish, the wall is done with Thermalite blocks. What did I do wrong???

Sponsored Links
Disaster!!!
I did PVA the wall (5:1) yesterday and twice today (3:1). Still the plaster started cracking after only 15 min on the wall.
I used B&Q branded PVA and Multi Finish, the wall is done with Thermalite blocks. What did I do wrong???