Air venting for power shower

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I'm no expert plumber, so excuse the stupid questions/comments. I've got a shower pump that is fed from a hot water cylinder and the cold water tank above it (i.e. hot and cold have the same head of pressure).

There is a gradual build up of air on the hot water side which doesn't seem to get vented through the hot water cylinder, which affects water pressure. My father in law has fitted a manual valve that we open periodically (every month or so) to vent the built up air. It is vented back into the cold water tank.

My question is: is there a kind of automatic air vent we could fit instead of this, to avoid the bother? I suppose it would need to be open under normal positive pressure and then closed under negative pressure, when the pump starts sucking, to stop air being sucked into the pump through the vent.

I hope that makes sense. Thanks in advance for any comments/answers.

Sponsored Links
Your pump hot feed from the cylinder should have a surrey/essex flange to prevent air being drawn in and causing the pump to cavitate.

Have you one of these or is it just teed off?

Pete

There's an essex flange on the inside. Not sure where the air is coming from TBH, there isn't any traces of water anywhere to suggest air is getting in somewhere else.

See if there is a surge down the vent when the pump is started. Put you hand over the end (make sure the water isn't hot first).

Sponsored Links
Hi, do you meant the vent my FIL put in to let us vent the built up air? There is no suction through that vent when the pump is on...

Graham means the vent pipe which dischrges into your cold water tank if as he suggests there is a suction when the shower pump activates you can either lower the pump speed if possible or raise the vent pipe higher to prevent air been drawn in.

However your essex flange should prevent this.

How powerful is the pump what bar flow rate?

Pete