alarms

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
i am new to this forum

my diy problem is i have a accenta mini G3 house alarm
when you walk through the front door the PIR does not set off right away sometimes it does what is causing the delay and how i can fix it
can somebody advise what to do

thanks harty

Sponsored Links
Hi,
Firstly got to say I'm no expert, I've only installed one DIY alarm myself, however I beleive many PIR's are inteligent and will not trigger untill they sense a couple of movements to avoid false alarms from things like draughts etc. That might be whats happening with yours. The Yale I fitted did the same, sometimes I could get to the pad before it started, other times in triggered as soon as I entered. I think it was just the way I entered the room, or whether I was carring anything like a bag.

Regards,
footprints

Are you using the PIR as the entry/Exit device?
If so are you walking towards it or across its path?

Also if the above is correct why can you not fit a door contact?

Sponsored Links
It is DIY and professional term.
It means the detector needs to be activated twice within a certain time period. This can be used for troublesome detectors but is false method in any good engineers opinion. Especially to be avoided on door contacts. Or the dubious method of a PIR on entry/exit.
Why do you ask this, it is in the manuals that come with the panels ( well some anyway, not the professional systems that only come with manager and user manuals), did you not understand the terminology?

It is poor method of trying to cut down on false alarms and in my eyes and most insurers totally incorrect. If there is an issue, investigate and change detector if all seems fine. I won't go into fault finding here ATM. You could soak test a new device, still not the best answer but one allowed for a few days by insurers.
I assume you know what that is?