another shed electric question

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all, this is my first post.

I have gone through many posts that are similair to mine but none answear my question.

I have a summer house at the back of my garden about 15m, my CU is at the front of the house. It would be alot easier if I can just extend my ring main as there is one in the back room.

My plan was to spur of the back socket with a SWA cable (3 core 4mm), into a MK IP65 Garage Unit 40A 30mA RCD+1x6A 1x16A SP MCB. Add three sockets to the 16A and then add a fused 3A spur to the 6A for the lights.

if the above is okay what sort of spur will I need for taking of the ring main?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
I am not an electrician but have read most posts on this forum. So I will have first crack.

As you said you are taking a spur. Not extending your ring final as you quoted earlier.
Max 13A for a spur from a ring final.

If you wanted to go this route I suspect you would have to protect your ring :LOL: with a 13A FCU. Which means your 16A MCB will be to big. ie fuse will blow first.

Also why have a 3A FCU from a dedicated 6A lighting MCB?

don't worry someone will answer with the science soon.

My plan was to spur of the back socket with a SWA cable (3 core 4mm),
There's room in there for a SWA gland???

into a MK IP65 Garage Unit 40A 30mA RCD
So is your existing socket circuit not RCD protected?

then add a fused 3A spur to the 6A for the lights.
Why?

if the above is okay
It's not - too much load from one point on the ring final.

what sort of spur will I need for taking of the ring main?
A fused one. Which makes your garage CU pointless.

Still notifiable though..

Thanks for the replys:

We had a sparky come round and suggested CU in the shed, so he can split the load.

The fused 3A spur from 6A is for the light switch, I was told I need to have 3A in the switch.

The current ring main is not protected via RCD.