Bathroom breaker question(s)!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys,

Need some advice about bathroom electrics. I'm an electronics engineer by trade, and know what I'm doing, but need some advice re the regs before I get the sparky in (the less he needs to do, the smaller his bill will be!)

Bathroom USED to have:
- pull-switch ceiling light on upstairs light cct (non-rcd side of a 16th ed cu)
- wall-mounted electric heater on dedicated radial (shared mcb with upstairs sockets on rcd protected side of 16th ed cu.... Via a fcu outside the bathroom)

In doing the place up, central heating has been put in so the electric heater has gone, and been replaced with an over-mirror light with a shaver socket.

Lighting cct mcbs have been replaced with rcbo's (so now every piece of copper in every wall has some rcd protection!)

My questions are:
- Is it ok for this light/shaver socket to share an mcb with the upstairs sockets?
- Should it have its own breaker?
- If it has its own breaker (eg a "bathroom breaker" labelled on the cu) does the main light (pull cord) also need to be on this breaker?
- Am I worrying too much? ;)

I need to get a sparky's report on the place anyway (so the mortgage co will release their retention!), but would like to get this done properly first for him to sign off (assuming he needs to).

Any assistance gratefully received!

Sponsored Links
- Is it ok for this light/shaver socket to share an mcb with the upstairs sockets?
Yes
- Should it have its own breaker?
Not necessary - Shaver sockets and bathroom lights often use a local lighting circuit, but an FCU from a local power circut is also fine. (Fused as per the instructions for the light, or 5A if no instructions.)
- If it has its own breaker (eg a "bathroom breaker" labelled on the cu) does the main light (pull cord) also need to be on this breaker?
No.
- Am I worrying too much? ;)
Ony a little bit!