Baxi 105E CH getting very hot & boiler fires at odd time

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

Newbie here, I have already searched the forums and tinternet for some answers, however, I have a couple that hopefully someone here can assist with.

Moved into new house, which is fitted with a Baxi 105e and British Gas RC Plus programable thermostat. I've got the instructions for the thermostat and have now "paired" it with the receiver. All sorted :D

BUT, here is where I have problems :

1 : I set the Thermostat to call for heat, boiler ignites and get the CH water hot, very very hot. That hot that you can't touch the radiators. The CH dial on the boiler is set to point towards 1 o clock ..... all the temp lights come on, up to 80c. The boiler will eventually cut out, but, only when the CH water is boiling.

Is this normal?

2 : Secondly, the boiler will fire up in the middle of the night, or silly O clock, even when the Thermostat is not asking for heat, and no one has turned a tap on, and there are no obvious leaks anywhere :mad:

Any idea why?

3 : On the boiler, the dials for the CH and HW pre heat, seem to have a natural "stop" around the 3 o clock position, however, you can turn the dials past this part all the way clockwise.

Are the "soft stops" or "detents" at the 3 o clock position normal?

Thanks for any assistance given.

Sponsored Links
Firing up in the middle of the night is normal when it's on preheat, you can turn this function off on the facia. I can't remeber how the knobs look off the top of my head but i'm almost certain that 12:00 is off.

Do you know if this boiler has had a replacement PCB recently? It kinda sounds like the knobs have been fitted wrong. It's hard to explain but the knobs can be fitted in the wrong orientation so that off isn't actually off, but it's actually about 2/3rds on. You need to partially remove the PCB to rectify this.