beam size for carport

Reaction score
Country
Cook Islands
I am making a lean-to carport, with a ledger against the house wall, and posts supporting a beam on the other side.

It will be 2400 wide, topped with 10mm twin-wall polyacarb, with rafters in 70mmx32mm at 600mm centres. I will probably use galvanised joist hangers as I am not good at joinery.

It is going to be 6metres long, and I have had difficulty finding timbers that length at modest price.

My local cheap timber yard has decking long enough, the timbers are 145x35 finished, and I am thinking of using one of them, or if necessary two, for the beam on the posts, as well as for the ledger. They are pressure-treated which I think is useful.

To allow room for car doors to open, I would like to have a span of 3metres (or preferably more) in the middle of the shelter, with two posts at each end 1200 intervals or therabouts.

Would this beam be adequate for a 3m unsupported span? I could if necessary put "gallows" braces from the posts to the beam at about 1m from the posts.

Sponsored Links
the total length of the carport is 6m

the biggest gap between posts will be 3m

using a 1-piece beam will I am sure be stronger and more rigid than using shorter pieces together to make the 6m

Do you think the timber size I have found will be enough as it is? Bigger sizes will cost quite a bit more, and I would prefer not to construct an I-beam if it can be avoided.

I would build a shallow box frame if using shorter timber, stronger than a single timber span and stop any yawing on the frame.

Sponsored Links
do you think the timber I have found will do the job?

You didn't mention frame timber details, only roof support and posts?
Treated 3X2 would be ideal.

I think I will use the decking boards for the perimeter, as they will look better, and 2400 rafters in 70mmx32mm at 600mm centres.

The roofing sheets are very light, and will be 2400 long