Becoming a 'pro

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
I may be interested in training to be an electrician. I work in the electronics industry (so I know my way around an AVO), and I'm a keen DIYer (I re-wired a house a while back, checked and tailed into the meter by a bone-fide electrician of course). Can you give me any idea of what training I would need, and importantly (but probably impossible to do) how much could I expect to earn? (I know, how long is a piece of string and all that, but there must be some sort of range that wages fall into).
I'd appreciate any advice even if it's not what I want to hear...

regards paul

Sponsored Links
The easy one to start with is your income, it depends whether you are self employed or working for some one else. The rates for being employed can vary from £50 a day to £150 a day, obviously you can get more but it depends on your qualifications, age and your experience.

As self employed you have to run a business, could be a small one but yet it is still a business. The question is whether you are ready to do so, as your income can be much higher than working for a company but you will have to work many more hours, and if you don't get the good reputation you need you might earn nothing.

If you talk to 10 different people you will get 10 different answers, so my advice is go/call a college in your area, or search in the internet for courses in electrics. The reason that I advice you to go to a college is that they are much cheaper that the private courses but much longer which sometimes be an advantage. The most known courses are of the City & Guilds. The courses system was changed recently, the course that most people followed was C&G 2360 parts 1 and 2, and than more advanced courses if you wish.

Ask about the new courses that replaced the 2360. I would recommend to do the Inspection and testing course (C&G 2391), I think that you will need first to pass the basic courses first.