Beer kit brewing and temperature control.

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I started brewing home brew around 4 years ago, and the summer brew was not good, but the winter brews were, although they could take over 4 times as long as the instructions stated. Step one was stick on temperature strips, and using old body warmers to keep the brew a little warmer in winter months.

Then the fridge/freezer although still working, was condemned as uneconomical to repair with an insulation fault which caused a ice build up in back of fridge. So this was moved to garage and I got a temperature controller and an old demo under floor heating tile and moved brewing to garage in a temperature controlled fridge.

The results were no daily monitoring just start it off then three weeks later bottle. During the Winter no cooling required worked well, the fridge/freezer still worked so no reason could not also use cooling only in the summer which I have started this week.

However during the time of year when heating and cooling may be required then there is a problem. The controllers have a differential so set at 0.3°C you will get for example.
19.5°C heating starts.
19.8°C heating stops.
20.1°C cooling starts.
20.4°C cooling stops.
The problem is the gap between heating and cooling needs to be larger than the gap between heating starting and stopping and cooling starting and stopping. The problem is the size of fridge/freezer motor it is too big, so monitoring the fermentor when the motor starts it brings the air in the freezer to around 2 ~ 4 degrees colder than the fermentor with a 0.1°C differential with 0.3°C even worse. So after the motor has stopped the fermentor is still cooling. I have set delay to maximum of 15 minutes but again delay works on both heating and cooling.