boiler presure problems

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have a Vaillant ecoTEC 428 boiler which has been losing pressure for about a year now and it has been necessary to re fill once a week. I could find no leaks on the system but water is obviously going somewhere. I had a heating engineer work on the system and replace a failing pump about this time last year and he said it’s evaporating in the boiler as the heat exchanger was corroded and I should consider a new one or maybe a new boiler. I am an electrician but my plumbing skills are somewhat limited however this sounded like an excuse to get me to part with some big money as surely this is not scientifically possible? I have been putting up with problem since then however it has been slowly getting worse and its now every day. I now see a green residue build up on the pipe outside in the garden leading to the pressure valve pipe over the boiler. I guess this is letting by and is where the water is all going. I went to my local plumbers’ merchant with a picture of the valve and said I wanted an exact direct replacement but was told that I needed to provide details and specifications of the boiler as a this was an unusual part Blah blah. As I said, my plumbing skills are basic, but I figured untightening two compression joints and replacing like for like, seems the best option for me.

Can anyone tell me what this valve is and where to get one?

Many thanks

Attachments

• thumbnail_IMG_20170627_140559[1].jpg
    thumbnail_IMG_20170627_140559[1].jpg
    19 KB · Views: 119
  • thumbnail_IMG_20170627_143826[1].jpg
    thumbnail_IMG_20170627_143826[1].jpg
    18.1 KB · Views: 101
Sponsored Links