Boiler stopped: now says, 'Check air/flue system'

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Combi boiler: Vaillant Turbomax 842E

This morning I woke to no hot water and no heating. The pressure guage on the boiler was too low and I refilled this up to 1 bar (I've done this once before about six months ago). For about 5 minutes I was then able to get hot water after which it gave up once again.

After getting back home this evening I have checked and bled all my radiators - in the process discovering that one of them was indeed mostly full of air. Whereas four of the five radiators now spurt out water, one of them I can't get to do more than trickle - seems odd (but as is probably very obvious, I am not very experienced at this!) I then reset the presssure guage - again up to 1 bar (I think in the process of bleeding the radiators it had dropped - does that make sense?)

Unfortunately the boiler still isn't working! I am fairly resigned to calling somebody out, but is there anything else I could try??? The status key tells me to 'Check air / flue system.'

Any comments gratefully received

Sponsored Links
valves on the one rad may be stuck closed/almost closed. would not stop boiler from coming on. lots of air in rads indicates leak somewhere

Does the fan on the boiler start up but no ignition?

This fault code normally indicates a failed air pressure switch.

Try turning the power off for a wee while it might reset it. Or is there an overheat reset button some where on the case. Not familular with the boiler.

Sponsored Links
The fan certainly does start up and I can hear it trying to ignite. I can't tell if it actually does ignite (embarrassingly) - I can't see gas pilot light. After a few moments (longer than it usually takes during normal heating) the fan noise stops.

There is a reset button (symbol is of a flame crossed out), which I have now found and tried - but it has had no effect. I have turned boiler off at power as suggested and will try again in a while.