Brand new bosch boiler pressure kept dropping...

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I am new to this DIYNOT, I recently moved and the old combi boiler broke down before Christmas. and then we have had a new bosch greenstar 25si boiler installed on29 dec. Since then I noticed that the boiler pressure keep dropping. At the begining I found 2 rads leaking , and got them fixed. and then top up the pressure back to 1.5bar.

Then it still kept dropping 0.2bar per day! And I checked all the rads many times and didn find any other leaking. I called the guy who is gas safe registed fitter and he claimed that there is nothing wrong with my new boiler. and suggested that my CH system and rads , pipes were too old...and told me that it s very common to repressurise the boiler every 2-3weeks...

As I didn see any sign of the water, and cant afford to rippoff the wooden floorbroad to see if there any leaking pipe underneath, I really dont know what to do. we topped up the pressure to 2bar last sunday, now we are hanging on the 0.5 already. is it true that it d damage the boiler if we constanly refill the water?

And other thing is, we share our main water supply with two neighbours. and my husband insis that the water/boiler pressure will not stay at one point because of it? I though its rubbish but dont wanna argue...

anyone can give me any idea what is going on with my boiler pressure please? Thanks alot!!

Sponsored Links
your husband is talking rubbish.
After the new boiler was installed have you had to bleed any radiators? If so, this will cause the pressure to drop.
Otherwise you have a leak somewhere-probably a slight one- but enough to drop the pressure as you describe.

your husband is talking rubbish.
After the new boiler was installed have you had to bleed any radiators? If so, this will cause the pressure to drop.
Otherwise you have a leak somewhere-probably a slight one- but enough to drop the pressure as you describe.

Hi , Thanks for your reply.